

Minutes of the Public Meeting of the Board of Directors of the Florida Public Archaeology Network Annual Meeting, St. Petersburg, Florida 12 May 2018

The Board of Directors of the Florida Public Archaeology Network (FPAN), University of West Florida, held its annual board meeting on May 12, 2018, 8:05 am – 12:30 pm EDT at the University of South Florida-St. Petersburg. The purpose of the meeting was to review progress during state fiscal year 2017-2018

The meeting was called to order by Chair Dr. Judy Bense at 8:05 am EDT. Dr. Bense thanked outgoing board member Lee Hutchinson for donation of a proper gavel for the FPAN board, to replace one that was lost along the way.

Present were Dr. Judy Bense (chair), Mr. Chris Davenport, Ms. Patty Flynn (FAS representative), Dr. Mary Glowacki (State Archaeologist, ex officio), Dr. Ramie Gougeon (FAC representative), Ms. Adrienne Burke, Ms. Lee Hutchinson, Mr. Terry Klein, Dr. Jeff Mitchem, Dr. Matthew Reeves, and Dr. John Worth. Also present were Dr. William Lees, executive officer and secretary to the board; Dr. Elizabeth Benchley, staff advisor to the board; and Ms. Bernita Bryant, FPAN administrative specialist. Vice Chair Dr. Greg Cook was unable to attend.

Dr. Bense presided over approval of the agenda (motion, approved) and the minutes (motion, approved) from the November 15, 2017, mid-year meeting of the Board.

In his executive director's report, Dr. Lees welcomed Bernita Bryant as the new administrative specialist in the FPAN Coordinating Center, and thanked outgoing board members Terry Klein (at large, out-of-state) and Lee Hutchinson (at large, in-state) for their service. He reviewed briefly the governor's veto of a substantial part of the UWF Archaeology Institute budget, stressed that this did not directly affect FPAN, and outlined planning that was underway to address this huge loss to UWF and Florida archaeology. He also outlined the history of the FPAN special category grant proposal (submitted through Flagler College) and its administrative move from an initial ranking of 14 to a final ranking of 54 (of 59). Finally, Dr. Lees noted the emergence of state level public archaeology networks in Oklahoma and Texas (OKPAN and TXPan) inspired by FPAN.

Emily Jane Murray (Flagler College, Northeast) reported that Kevin Gidusko (Flagler College, East Central) had resigned to take a position at the University of South Florida, and that Emily Dietrich has been hired to fill this position.

Dr. Bense presided over appointment of new board members to take the place of retiring members Patty Flynn, Lee Hutchinson, and Terry Klein. Jason Wenzel was welcomed as the new FAS representative. Matthew Reeves (at large, out-of state) and Marion Almy (at large, in-state) were presented as nominees. Patty Flynn moved and John Worth and Matthew Reeves seconded their appointment. The motion was accepted unanimously. Each will serve a three-year term.

FPAN Associate Director Dr. Della Scott-Ireton reviewed the annual work plan with DHR. A broad ranging discussion of local preservation ordinances ensued. Dr. Bense asked Jeff Moates to present at next year's annual meeting a paper on the state of local preservation ordinances, with the help of Adrienne Burke and Chris Davenport.

Field Reports were presented by Barbara Clark (UWF, Northwest and North Central Regions), Emily Jane Murray (Flagler, Northeast and East Central Regions), Sara Ayers-Rigsby (Southeast and Southwest Regions), Jeff Moates (Central and West Central Regions), Mike Thomin (Destination Archaeology Resource Center), and Laura Clark and Sorna Khakzad on their post-doctoral research projects on heritage tourism and assessment.

Partner Updates were provided by Dr. Ramie Gougeon (Florida Archaeological Council), Ms. Patty Flynn (Florida Anthropological Society), and State Archaeologist Dr. Mary Glowacki (DHR Bureau of Archaeological Research)

Under old business Dr. Bense thanked Jeff Moates and his team for putting on this year's FAS conference.

No new business was brought before the board. The meeting adjourned at 12:30 pm.

Approved by the Board of Directors at the November 30, 2018, meeting.